Something For The Weekend

It’s nice to listen to music to get us ready for a run or to keep us going during a run so I thought it would be good to share some tunes that we can add to our playlist, maybe songs by artists we wouldn’t normally listen to or simply tunes we’d forgotten about. The main purpose being hopefully we can inspire each other with our music selections and why we’ve chosen them.

This week is a different kind of tune altogether, a song I haven’t listened to for a while but heard it last weekend and it summed up Sunday for me after the Inverness Half Marathon. I’ve listened to it a few times since Sunday and I would say it’s the perfect song for race day.

When it comes to a longer distance race (Half Marathon or Marathon), I often find my mind is racing in preparation for the race between making sure I’ve got everything, getting to the toilet when I need to as well as nerves around the race itself and I often find it difficult to listen to tracks that get you pumped up even more.

This is the kind of song I would listen to on race day on the way to the start and then sing it to myself on the start line. It’s got a nice gentle melody, great for calming nerves and some great lyrics too:

“Oh, anyway, it’s looking like a beautiful day” and the rolling chorus, “Throw those curtains wide, one day like this a year would see me right”.

I think it’s nice to be able to stand on the start line of a marathon with an element of confidence, faith in your ability and the training that’s brought you to the day rather than be a bag of nerves that might not necessarily get you off to the right start. What I’ve just said there is what I’m like at Half Marathons and shorter distances but only dream of at marathons!

It makes sense though, if we can start relaxed and calm but focussed on what we’re about to do then we can get a better outcome. The song? This week’s choice is Elbow – One Day Like This. Enjoy!

What would your ideal song be to listen to on the start line of a race to get you in the zone and ready to run?

One Reply to “Something For The Weekend”

Leave a Reply

