Something For The Weekend

Now I’ve got your attention, this post is designed to share our favourite tunes to get us in the mood for a run or to sing along to while out on a run (it’s ok, we all do it and we’re all great singers). I hope my picks may end up on your playlist and likewise I hope to add yours to mine. It’s also good if we end up listening to artists or genres we would never have considered before.

This week’s choice is my all-time favourite, Lose Yourself by Eminem. I listen to this before every marathon and recite some of the lyrics during the race also. The lyrics in question are:

“You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
You own it, you better never let it go
You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow
This opportunity comes once in a lifetime you better”

I think we’re very lucky to be able to run and to be able to take part in big events like marathons and I always go into each marathon to run my best in case it’s my last. This is my chance, my opportunity, so I want to do my best so that if it were to be my last, I would be able to look back on it with pride and say that I ran a marathon.

What do you listen to before a big race? What do you listen to when you need a boost during a run?

 

 

 

 

9 Replies to “Something For The Weekend”

  1. Great pic! My favourite changes all the time but one I always go back to, and used to be my Power Song on the old Nike running app was ‘The Saints are Coming’ by U2. I’m not a huge U2 fan, but when they opened the Superdome with this song after it was used as an emergency shelter during Hurricane Katrina it was awesome. It’s pumping, great to run to and helps me dig that little bit deeper. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

