Weekend Playlist

It’s always nice to listen to music to get us ready for a run or to keep us going during a run so I thought it would be nice to share some tunes that we can maybe add to our playlist, maybe songs by artists we wouldn’t normally listen to or simply tunes we’d forgotten about. The main purpose being hopefully we can inspire each other with our music selections and why we’ve chosen them.

I’m going to start with a song called Not Giving In by Rudimental and John Newman. When I ran the 4 races in Edinburgh in 2015, by the time I got beyond 20 miles in the Marathon, the fatigue of all the races caught up with me and I was needing all the help I could get to the finish. The volunteers from Macmillan Cancer Support were amazing at each of the cheer points but as the last few miles approached I needed something more. Thankfully, I did have my iPod with me, put it on and while my usual go to songs weren’t having the impact I hoped, this one did so had it on repeat with the line “This time I’m gonna be stronger I’m not giving in” going round and round in my head until I saw the finish line. Very powerful lyrics when you’re running a marathon!

 

What’s your number one song on your playlist?

 

 

2 Replies to “Weekend Playlist”

Leave a Reply

