7 Goals for 2017

I’m going to hold my hands up and admit that I didn’t set any goals for 2016 other than to go for sub 3hrs 15mins in a marathon, which would qualify me for a Good For Age place in the London Marathon. The failure to set any meaningful goals to fully commit to wasn’t a great idea and while I’ve achieved quite a lot in 2016, it could’ve been so much better.

Allison started writing her goals for 2017 and following the guidance of Sarah Williams from the brilliant Tough Girl Podcast, she’s gone for 7 goals for 2017. This got me thinking more about mine, decided to write them down and broadcast them to make them more real and have whittled them down to my top 7 so here they are, in no particular order:

  1. Get at least 10,000 steps every day
    This started out fairly easily when we took out policies with Vitality, through Fitness Rewards back in January where you are rewarded for being healthy and exercising regularly. Since I moved my PT studio, I’ve been driving more which has led to at least one or two days a week where I haven’t hit my step goal if I’ve not been running. With more events planned this year, I am aiming to hit my step goal even on rest days.
  2. Be able to do the front crawl 
    I’ve tried this in the past in the build up to the Relay Wild Triathlon and the Edinburgh Triathlon 2 years ago but just stuck to doing the breaststroke but as I’ve signed up to do the Edinburgh Half Ironman in July, I’m going to need to be able to do the crawl as the swim will be outdoors.
  3. Read 12 books
    I’m rubbish at reading books, always have been but I want to be able to get into them more this year and so I’ve signed up to the Goodreads Reading Challenge. If I commit myself to reading more through this challenge then I’m more likely to achieve it. I currently manage about 1-2 books a year and only tend to read them when on holiday.
  4. Read more blog posts & write more often
    I’ve become a bit lazy in reading blog posts and writing little more than at the weekend, after I’ve been for a run. I blame the lack of reading on drinking too much coffee with the flawed belief that going to a coffee shop would allow me enjoy a coffee and read but in reality, once the caffeine has kicked in, my attention span becomes shorter than a goldfish and I end up spending too much time on social media!
  5. Plan my training better
    This is probably more a case of planning my life better! My training in 2016 was fairly inconsistent during the week and that was down to planning my runs mid to late morning but I would always be guilty of prioritising something else work-related and the run wouldn’t happen. I have been thinking a lot more about creating a better life-work balance (I’m not so sure why they call it a work-life balance when ‘work’ is still placed ahead of ‘life’) and so if I can plan my training well, when I can realistically put it in my schedule then I will become more productive in other areas of my life, like updating my accounts every week so I’m not scrambling around at the end of January before the deadline. Anyone self-employed reading this will understand!
  6. Improve my running form over 26.2 miles
    What I did succeed in 2016 was to learn to pace myself better over the Half and Marathon distances so that I ran feeling that I was in control of my pace and that I could speed up at anytime, especially in the latter stages and this worked very well. I’ve also been working on my form, trying to perfect my knee drive so that I can run more efficiently. My challenge is now to be able to combine both over the marathon distance so that I can run efficiently at a quicker pace and still feel like I can speed up late on. Watch this space…..
  7. Run 2017km in 2017
    You’ve got to have a challenge that requires you to get out of your comfort zone otherwise it isn’t a challenge! This equates to 1253.31 miles and would require me to surpass the 1000 miles I achieved in my Paris to Loch Ness challenge in 2014 although I ended up running more than that but didn’t count all the miles. I’ve got 2 marathons (Paris and Stirling), 4 races in 2 days at the Balmoral Running Festival and the Half Ironman, all in the first half of the year so that should eat a lot in to my target.

    That’s my Top 7 goals for this year ahead and part of my blog writing goal will be updating my progress as I go along.

    What are your goals for 2017?

    Happy Running! 🙂

2 Replies to “7 Goals for 2017”

Leave a Reply

