running · Training

When A Bad Run Becomes A Good Run 

There is no such thing as a bad run. The only way a run can become a bad one is if you don’t learn from it.

Running presents us with many opportunities to learn and I believe we only learn once we stop taking all stats seriously and reflect not only on our performance but also the background of our performances.

I normally turn up to Parkrun without having had breakfast but yesterday, I decided to have breakfast for a change and so I ate my usual bowl of porridge. Big mistake! Instead of going round feeling energised, I felt like I was carrying around a sack of tatties (potatoes for my non-Scottish friends). Every other aspect of my run was fine, just felt like I was driving with the hand brake on. Perhaps I should’ve had oatcakes with peanut butter? Lesson learned and I’ll go back to no breakfast next time.

Today’s run could’ve been considered a bad run as I was completely off the pace I would like to run at Loch Ness in a couple of weeks but actually turned out to be one of the best runs I’ve had in a long time! One of the things I love about running is the time and space it gives you to clear the mind and, for me, come up with lots of good ideas.

I’ve already accepted that I’m not going to hit my target of getting the qualifying time for a good for age place in London but I plan to run as to how I feel, always knowing I can speed up if needed but being able to feel as good as I can from 26 miles onwards. This might be a bit of a challenge as I’ve lacked consistency in my training over the last 3-4 weeks, don’t really feel like I’ve got good miles in my legs so my plan is really to feel less rubbish in the last 10k. I’ve already designed my training plan in my head for Paris next year but that’s for another post!

What I did realise is that I’ve probably become complacent with my training and believing that I’ll always ‘get there’ in time for the race but then marathon training has a good way of biting you on the bum and letting you know whether you’ve done the training or not. I know I’ll get round, it will be a case of how it will be done but not necessarily the way I hoped when I put my entry in. I also came up with topics for my next 2 posts for my website as well as how I want to rewrite the content on it.

img_6244

To review my runs from this weekend, am I happy with them? Absolutely! If yesterday went very well then I wouldn’t have spent today in deep thought. I would’ve likely spent the majority of my long run listening to this week’s Marathon Talk podcast but, as it happened, I found myself switching it off after 4 miles then spending the next 14 miles reflecting on where I am, where I want to be with everything in my life and the actions I’m going to take to make it all happen.

Next time you have a run that doesn’t quite go to plan, think of why it didn’t go to plan and what you need to change in order to get a better outcome next time. Maybe you too will find the run that suddenly changes everything including things you’d never previously considered were important.

Happy Running! 🙂

Leave a Reply

