running

EMF – One Week To Go!

It’s hard to believe a year has passed since I ran all 4 races at the Edinburgh Marathon Festival that created a whole lot of memories and has really taken a long time to appreciate the positive impact it made and that it was more than “just a run”. What’s even more special is that in a week’s time, I will be doing it all over again and hopefully create lots of new special moments to cherish.

The moment that will stay with me forever
The moment that will stay with me forever

This year has been interesting as I’ve had an injury to deal with and that has made me work harder since Paris to get my pace back and the hard work is certainly paying off. I’ve been doing double weekend sessions running Perth Parkrun hard then doing a longer run on Sundays. This has seen me chip away at my Parkrun PB, beating it a couple of times and on Saturday, I not only took 30 secs off my Parkrun PB from the week before, I also took 20 secs off my 5k PB! The great thing is, I still feel like I can go faster but it’ll be a few weeks before I’m back to try it.

I managed to fit in an interval session on Thursday morning, doing the full session I had originally planned to do last Sunday before dropping out after 4 intervals. I’m feeling pretty strong and enjoyed a steady 8 mile run this morning at an average 7.30 min/mile pace which is quicker than any of my Sunday runs since Paris (or probably this year!) and also I felt like I could have gone quicker. This is great news as my target pace for next week’s Half Marathon is 7 min/miles. I actually got the sense on Friday that I could end up running the Half quicker than I did last year (1hr 34 mins) and so things are definitely clicking together at the right time. Certainly, it all comes down to actually running that time next Sunday but I feel in a much better position to do it than I did a week ago. From being extremely nervous and a bit concerned last week, I am now rather excited about next weekend!

4 is a magic number, not 3
4 is a magic number, not 3

I’ve never been one for a big taper in the build up to a marathon and while I have decreased my mileage, this coming week I will still be looking to get out for runs on Tuesday and Thursday and cycle back and forward to work at least twice a day every day. Following this pattern allows my body to continue to do what has been working for it over the last few weeks and so continue to build on momentum. I’m well aware that this approach doesn’t work for everyone so do what works for you.

If you are running in Edinburgh next week, good luck and I hope you get the time you’re hoping for. If you’re doing any of the races for the first time, I assume you will be feeling a bit nervous just now and that is ok. My tip is to focus on creating your big finish in your mind. Think of how you want to run the last 50 metres and how you want to feel when you cross the line so that when you’re running, you want to hold your pace so that you can make that finish happen. You will likely feel your moods swing from an amazing high to ‘oh my god, I can’t run’ several times a day everyday this week and that is perfectly natural. When you get to the start line, try to relax and go out easy. You’ll probably feel like Mo Farah and go flying out but trust me, it won’t last and you don’t want to end up walking later on when you’ve run out of steam from that quick start.

great day

I will be running the 5k, 10k, Half Marathon AND Marathon at the Edinburgh Marathon Festival as part of my 2015 in 2015 Challenge to try to raise £1000 for Macmillan Cancer Support. It is nearly 2 years since my dad died from Cancer and a friend’s mum lost her battle with Cancer last week. More and more people are being diagnosed and it’s very important for these people to receive the support they need to get through their journey and also for their friends and family. Macmillan are renowned for their excellent support so please help me help Macmillan provide that support to more people.

Please click on this link and help me make a difference

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

 

Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

