running

2015 in 2015

I have a new challenge! I will be attempting to run 2015km in 2015 to raise money for Macmillan Cancer Support. This works out to roughly 1252 miles, a bit further than I did last year but I plan to run all the way rather than include cycling, which I did last year.

My challenge has already started and my first race will be the Paris Marathon in less than 2 weeks followed be running all 4 races in the Edinburgh Marathon Festival again on the 30th & 31st May as well as the Scottish Half Marathon in September and probably more races to come. Things have taken a bit of a twist so far as I cracked a rib a few weeks back after falling off my bike on some ice and that has curtailed the level of training I had planned. This means my targets have now changed.

The moment that will stay with me forever
The moment that will stay with me forever

I was originally targeting a sub 3.15 time in Paris but now my goal is not to get ‘chicked‘ by Allison, who has been bang on form in her training until her recent muscle strain and her endurance is likely to be better than mine. I also have a much bigger challenge over the coming weeks as I will need to take 25 mins off my current half marathon time before Edinburgh if I’m going to run both the Half and Marathon there. I need to finish close to 1hr 30mins to give me enough time to get back to the start and I’m currently running 13.1 miles in 1hr 54mins. I have been able to run through my recovery from my rib injury but not at any great intensity. The challenge is on!

The man who got me into running
The man who got me into running

I completed my challenge last year in memory of my dad, who lost his battle with oesophageal cancer in 2013. This time, my focus and purpose is to try to help people become more aware of types of cancer and the amazing support network that is available out there.

Why do I support Macmillan?

Macmillan continues to play a vital role in helping to improve the lives of people affected by cancer. It is forecast that 1 in 2 of us will get cancer at some point in our lives according to Cancer Research UK and while the number of people surviving, and also living with, cancer are increasing, the need for support will also increase.

Over 98% of Macmillan’s income comes from voluntary donations and fundraising and I have come to learn just how valuable the support that Macmillan provide is to not only the patient living with cancer but also their carers and families. As little as £25 could pay for a Macmillan nurse for an hour, helping patients and their families receive essential medical, practical and emotional support that prevents people feeling like they’re facing cancer alone. We all know someone who has been affected by cancer and we can all help. By challenging myself physically to complete some endurance events, I am doing all I can to make a difference.

Please help me make a difference…..

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

8 thoughts on “2015 in 2015

  1. Good luck Steve. You are amazing and so inspiring to many, including me.
    Run your run and I look forward to hearing about your races…and I am certain there will be more.

    Oh and funny you used the term “chicked” today. I just heard that term on Friday for the first time. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

