Body · Mind · running

Paris – 4 Weeks To Go!

Have you ever had a run during marathon training that wasn’t necessarily your best but it ticked all the boxes to let you know that you are more than capable of completing your target race? That aptly described my run this morning.

After last week’s 7 miler, I had high hopes of completing 10 miles which was a far cry from the 16/18 miles I had originally planned before I fell off my bike. All was going really well this week with several short runs to and fro my studio and on Tuesday, Gillian, the Physiotherapist up the stairs from me got in touch offering to help by applying kinesiotape and that seemed to feel better straight away but then I went for a run a wee while after and didn’t really notice any major difference and removed the tape the following day. I know taping can work well so I’m not sure why it didn’t help on this occasion.

As the week went on, I started to feel that I was beginning to be able to do more before I felt any discomfort. That was short-lived and I felt some pain in my ribs on Saturday morning and then again this morning, although not quite as bad. My plan to do 10 miles was looking a bit shaky and I admit to almost texting Graeme to cancel but I thought I would head out anyway and see what would happen. After last week’s flat run, we decided to head out of town in the direction of Bridge of Earn, probably follow the route of the 5 mile race that takes place there every year and then head back again. Apart from a ‘bit’ of a hill in the early stages and again later on, the bulk of the route is generally flat.

body-achieves

We got off to a good start and the pace felt comfortable but far from being as fast as we would normally run at when both on top form. We got over the brow of the hill easily enough but when we got over the other side, I started to feel my ribs hurting a little bit so I stopped and walk for a bit. I had visions of doing enough to get back to my car and calling it quits at 5 miles but by the time we got back to Graeme’s restaurant in Tay Street, where we started from, my ribs had eased and I felt good to keep going so I thought I might manage 10 miles after all especially as my Garmin was sitting at 7.45 miles. I went for a lap round the North Inch park and then back out to my studio to collect the car and was ecstatic to stop it at 11 miles.

North Inch, a very popular training ground for runners!
North Inch, a very popular training ground for runners!

I’ve never really felt as happy after my training runs as I have done now for the last two runs but when you’ve got something underlying and a great deal of uncertainty of what you might be able to do, these kind of achievements mean a great deal. Not only am I delighted to have completed 11 miles, I was also happy that I felt that I could’ve kept on going and that I felt that I can go on and run Paris comfortably.

run-when-you-can-dean-karnazes-quote

When you’re going through a tough time and you know you can still exercise in some form, it’s important to look at the bigger picture, be grateful that you can still exercise and remind yourself of the wonderful benefits you get from exercising. Paris might be more of a sightseeing journey than a record breaking one but it will certainly be one of the most meaningful and memorable races I ever run.

I may be suffering from cracked ribs but my discomfort pales is nothing compared to the journey many people go through with cancer. Macmillan do a fantastic job of providing essential support to people on their journey and also to friends and family. Please help me help Macmillan support even more people by sponsoring me. Thank you

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a Reply

