I Mustache You Some Questions

I’ve been tagged in a link from my wife, The Running Princess for this blog and answer a few questions about myself. This should be interesting!

mustache-1024x1024

Four names other people call me other than my real name

  1. My mum calls me Steven
  2. My friend Nicki once called me Evil Steve when I was training her
  3. I was known as Mad Steve by people helping out at events for Macmillan and I only discovered it when I got a massage at the end of the Loch Ness Marathon, got chatting to the therapists and one said she thought I was ‘Mad Steve’ and laughed and admitted that I was!
  4. My mum always recounts the story that when I was a kid, we went into the chemists to pick up my prescription and they had spelled my name wrong so I asked the chemist why he was calling me “Step-Hen”

Four jobs I’ve had

  1. My very first job was a sales assistant in a supermarket. One of my jobs was working in the fish department and I once offered an old lady that she could buy one fish for the price of two and she heartily said yes but I didn’t have the courage to go through with it!
  2. My next job was a Signalman on the railway but didn’t last beyond the initial six month period.
  3. One of the jobs that helped shape my life was as a Pizza Chef at a local takeaway. I worked there for the best part of 9 years in the 90’s and it was an amazing experience. It was a busy place and I met so many people during that time.
  4. I could say my current job as a Personal Trainer but I don’t consider it as a job as I feel blessed that I get paid to do something I love, helping people become better versions of themselves

Four movies I’ve watched more than once

  1. Superman. One of the first films I watched when I was a kid and loved it
  2. Coming To America – I loved Eddie Murphy films during the 80’s and while I could mention Beverly Hills Cop, I thought this one was brilliant. Very funny!
  3. The Flying Scotsman – this film is the story of Graeme Obree and is probably the most inspirational film I’ve ever watched. I actually watched it about 5 times in a row on the same flight to Australia in 2008
  4. Elf – it’s compulsory watching every December to get you in the mood for Christmas. I’m surprised it’s never become a law that everyone must watch it in December.

Four books I recommend

  1. Start With Why by Simon Sinek. A fantastic book that has helped me shape my business
  2. Yes Man by Danny Wallace. I read it on holiday in 2009 and decided to follow the principles myself in 2010 and had one of the most amazing years of my life doing many wonderful things and making many new friends.
  3. Friends Like These by Danny Wallace – Another holiday read (the only time I ever read a book).
  4. Either Oor Wullie or The Broons – These annuals were a staple of growing up in Scotland. For anyone who doesn’t know, Oor Wullie and The Broons are cartoon strips from the Sunday Post newspaper with tales of Wullie, who famously sat on an upturned bucket, and his friends Fat Bob, Soapy Soutar and Wee Eck and their various scrapes. The Broons were probably the most famous family in Scotland

Four places I’ve lived

  1. The home above a garage where I spent my early years in Perth
  2. The family home where I spent the best part of my life growing up in Perth
  3. My first flat in the centre of Perth that I rented from my boss at the pizza place
  4. My current flat, the marital home with Allison

Four places I’ve been

  1. Sydney. My favourite city in the world. I had an amazing holiday there, and the east coast of Australia, in 2008 and would go back in an instant if I had the chance.
  2. Sousse, Tunisia. Went there twice, once myself and the other with Allison on our first holiday together. Stayed in the same hotel both times, great place and the perfect beach holiday – relaxation, fresh figs and beer sent over from the hotel
  3. Paris. Been twice and heading back in April to run the marathon. A great city
  4. Florida. We went there on our honeymoon and have gone back almost every year since.

Large-Sydney-Branch

Four places I’d rather be right now

  1. Australia. I spent a month there and made a flying visit to Sydney, Brisbane and along the Gold Coast. I’d love to return to Sydney and also visit Melbourne
  2. Florida. Who wouldn’t want to go somewhere warm when it’s dark and grey outside?
  3. I love Scotland and re-visiting Skye would be great along with visiting a number of wonderful places on the West Coast
  4. The days where it’s bright and cold are magical in Scotland. I love running on days like these, usually at the start of marathon training in January

Four of my favourite foods

  1. Broccoli. I love vegetables and love eating steamed green veg with my meals
  2. Salmon. My favourite fish and love cooking with it
  3. Watermelon. The best post-race food! It’s an excellent way to rehydrate after a race on a warm day in the summer and it’s also full of vitamins
  4. Lemon. I love starting the day with a mug of warm water with a slice of lemon

Four things I don’t eat

  1. Ginger – it may be good for me but I can’t stand it
  2. Certain spicy foods – I don’t mind a bit of chilli to add a hint of spice to a dish but I don’t like dishes that are overly hot
  3. Actually can’t think of anything else that I don’t like!

Four tv shows I watch

  1. Casualty. Started watching it while I was bored on a Saturday night in Wiltshire while studying for my PT course in 2000 and have watched it ever since!
  2. The Apprentice. The format may have changed to become a partner than a job resulting in the poorer calibre of candidate but I still love watching it.
  3. Breaking Bad. I don’t watch tv that much but got bitten by the bug a year ago and watched almost the entire 5 series while Allison was on a school trip in Paris
  4. Broadchurch. I love watching British tv dramas and this one has been one of the best in recent years

Four things I’m looking forward to this year

  1. Taking part in my first Triathlon on New Years Day
  2. Paris Marathon. I believe I am capable of running a sub 3:15 marathon to get a good for age place in London and after coming close to that time for most of the way at Loch Ness, I believe I can go one step further and get the time in Paris.
  3. Etape Caledonia. This will be my very first cycle race and this is probably going to challenge me more than any other marathon I’ve ever done
  4. Edinburgh Marathon Festival. I ran the 5k, 10k, Half Marathon and Marathon this year and I’m signed up to do them all again in May. It was such an amazing experience to do all 4 races and I can’t wait to do them all again next year

Four things I always say

  1. Why? I spend my working day coaching people and having studied NLP (Neuro-Linguistic Programming), I ask this question frequently to understand certain patterns from what my clients say and help them understand their goals so they become easier to achieve
  2. Anything is Possible. Again, I usually say this on a very regular basis when chatting to my clients about their goals and to help them realise them.
  3. “Two More”. Again, in my job of training people I encourage them to work as hard as they can and always ask for two more reps to ensure they’ve done as much as they possibly can to get results quicker. I suppose that’s why I got called Evil Steve!
  4. Love you. I say it to Allison several times every day.
4 Replies to “I Mustache You Some Questions”

  1. Ugh I struggle with The Breaking Bad! Series 3 and part 2 of series 5 has been good, but the rest was subpar. We kept watching thinking it would get better. I really struggle with Walt: I either want to punch him in the face or reach through the TV screen to close his gaping mouth. Pat and I have nicknamed that series ‘Assholes.’ 😉

    Like

  2. Ha ha! Don’t you love when a show gets under your skin like that? I also loved The Bridge from the BBC. It’s a police drama set between Denmark and Sweden, has subtitles but it’s awesome! They’ve made two series so far and it would be great if they made a third 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

