running

2 Weeks to go – The day I was attacked by a big bird!

In 14 days time, from the time of writing this, I will have finished the Paris Marathon yet it still hasn’t sunk in that it’s that close! Certainly my thoughts have turned towards my pace in the race but it still seems ages away!

Getting a few short runs in during the week is certainly helping to improve my average pace and I’m feeling better on my longer runs as a result. I noticed on today’s run that when I had switched off from what I was doing, I glanced at my Garmin and noticed that I was running at target pace but then the question is, can I hold that pace for the full 26.2 miles? Only time will tell.

I decided to stick to my favoured Necessity Brae – Aberdalgie – Craigend route with a trip down on to the Shore Road then see where I would go from there. As I said last week, this route is pretty good in the challenge it brings in terms of hills and the rollercoaster feel of the stretch between Aberdalgie and Craigend. This is a route that I tend to see other runners and cyclists more than cars or any other type of vehicle.

I was blessed with a lovely warm Scottish Spring morning in the sunshine and the coldness I was anticipating was unfounded. The second mile was probably the most challenging mile I’ve ever run as firstly I had a bit of a mental wobble, similar to a few weeks ago where I stopped and turned back but this time I ran through it, walking for a short hawkdistance until the moment passed. A few minutes after I started running again, I was attacked by a big bird! I would say it looked more like a hawk than the very large yellow creature from Sesame Street! I’m not sure what the attraction was but I felt its claws grab my head, fly off then circle around overhead for a while before disappearing after a flock of other birds came across. After the initial attack, it flew away to the nearest tree then circled overhead ready tobig bird attack again so I pretty much had to run with my hands on my head for a few hundred yards until it finally disappeared. In the years I’ve been running, I’ve never experienced anything quite like that before!

The rest of the run was pretty uneventful in comparison but the main thing is, I’m feeling pretty comfortable throughout each run and I’m kinda looking forward to the race to see how far I’ve come. I know I’ve still got a lot to do to get to where I really want to be and I feel that Loch Ness is where I’ll run my best.

Have you ever had a run disrupted by a crazy bird or animal?

My song choice today is one I heard played on Davina McCall’s inspirational Beyond Breaking Point for Sport Relief on tv the other day and pretty much sums up how I feel when I’m running.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

2 thoughts on “2 Weeks to go – The day I was attacked by a big bird!

Leave a Reply

