What a difference a week makes

After last week’s disappointment, I got straight back out today for whatever I could manage, really. I decided on going out the Rhynd Road loop on the outskirts of Perth and then see how I felt from there. As anyone who’s ever run that stretch before will tell you, it’s not the flattest or easiest routes but then I’ve always believed that hills are worth much more when you go to run on the flat afterwards and you don’t really learn that much by running on flat routes all the time.

Following last week’s run, I decided to cut down on my sugar, milk and coffee intake and set aside time in the afternoons to rest. In my day job as a Personal Trainer, I start work at 6.30am most days and seldom finish before 8pm so that can mean long days if I don’t take time to rest and as I haven’t taken that time recently, most of my recent sugar and caffeine intake (one usually follows the other) has been in the afternoons to try and stay awake and alert. I can assure you it’s an ineffective strategy and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone unless you’ve no choice.

I would come home around lunchtime, have some food which largely consisted of mackerel and some steamed veg then afterwards I had a nap for 30mins or so. This confused our cats and frankly irritated them when I had the audacity to stretch out on our sofa which is usually the cats domain during the day. A couple of days doing that and I started to feel good again like I did when I did it previously. I also took the decision to rest from exercise as much as I could, which is not easy when you teach classes everyday!

By the end of the week, I started to feel almost fully refreshed again even though I’d had a couple of days with little rest in the afternoons. A nap yesterday afternoon and a good dinner last night and I felt ready for today’s run. I got up this morning, had a couple of oatcakes with peanut butter and an espresso before I left the house and I felt great again. The route took me over 11 miles and I kept going to 12 before jumping in my car to come and teach Metafit at Gleneagles. I felt great and able to join in some of the class, the first time I’ve felt like that in a while. I’m now looking forward to being able to add in a couple of bonus runs on Tuesday and Thursday mornings and get a longer run in next Sunday.

The moral of the story? You can either let a negative situation get to you or use it to learn from, change and go get the outcome you really want. It works and you will feel so much better afterwards.

What has running taught you?

2 Replies to “What a difference a week makes”

  1. Running has taught me that I can achieve more than I ever imagined. It has also taught me that when running long, you need to respect the distance and can’t just hope for the best if you’re underprepared or below par. Sometimes a break is much more productive than ploughing on regardless.

    Like

  2. Absolutely! Rest is also a key component of every successful training program. It’s easy to throw everything at it but the body responds better when you allow yourself some rest. As I’ve got older, I’ve learned to go for quality than quantity in training as my body responds better and the results have been better

    Like

Leave a Reply

