What a Difference a Day Makes

It’s amazing the difference a random moment can make to everything in life. I’ve been thinking about the need to fit in other runs during the week to compliment my long Sunday runs and it’s often been a struggle for me to fit it in due to work commitments. I’m sure you’ve all experienced something like that where you find everything else suddenly gets in the way of exercising. While we should make time to exercise at some point each day, it becomes a challenge to fit it in when exercise IS your job! Until now, I’ve managed only a 30min run with a client during the week and been relying on Metafit classes to boost my fitness.

I took advantage of a break a couple of days ago, got my shoes on and headed out for a run. My plan was to do the Rhynd loop, an undulating circular loop on the outskirts of Perth, which is pretty close to where my studio is and the distance is around 9 miles. This is one of my trusted routes that I add in to my marathon training every year. I put the iPod on and straight out the door, the music stopping me from deciding to do another job instead of running. I usually prefer running without music but it was necessary that day.

During the run, I managed to create a training plan that would suit me and would get me more miles in the bag without affecting my work. I am aware that I need to add speed as well as miles to achieve certain goals and make things easier as I get into my challenge. I had become aware of feeling slightly sluggish during some recent runs and so this run would be useful to help fix that.

….and it did just that and much more! During that run, one of my all time favourite running songs came on and from that moment onwards, I remembered all the reasons why I love running and was able to change my attitude towards my training and have since become much more focused on what I need to do to get the results I want from all the races I am going to be running.

We all have our favourite running tunes, some for the beat, some for the lyrics, some for the good memories they remind us of. A few of these songs were on my playlist but then everything changed when a song I haven’t listened to for a long time came on – Lose Yourself by Eminem. I love listening to the lyrics, particularly the opening lines “If you had one shot, or one opportunity to seize everything you ever wanted. one moment, would you capture it or just let it slip?” It reminds me of something a fellow runner told me after my first London Marathon to run a race as if it’s your last. I also love listening to the closing lines “So here I go it’s my shot, feet fail me not, this may be the only opportunity that I got” and repeat them to myself in my head in the last 100 metres of a race when I try and find my sprint finish.

What songs help you run?

2 Replies to “What a Difference a Day Makes”

Leave a Reply

