The Journey Starts Here

There’s nothing I love more than the start of marathon training in the first week of the new year, blasting off the cobwebs from relative inactivity, other than drinking and eating way too much, over Christmas and New Year. It’s great to have a Spring Marathon to look forward to and give me a purpose to get out when its cold outside.

2014 brings me a whole new challenge and as a result, the training must start now. I’ve decided to run 3 marathons next year rather than just the usual one. I haven’t completely taken leave of my senses but my challenge is small compared to my reason for doing it, in memory of my dad who lost his battle with cancer in July. He was always a very fit man and never ill but by the time he received the results of tests for what he thought might be acid reflux, he was told the cancer was untreatable. My purpose for doing this is to encourage people to go to the doctor to get checked out if either there is a history of cancer in the family or for prolonged conditions. In many cases, cancer is treatable if caught early.

My challenge? To run Paris, Edinburgh and Loch Ness marathons and cover the 850 mile distance between Paris and Inverness in the 26 weeks between the two races to raise money for MacMillan and Catmoor House in Scone, who cared for Dad in his final weeks. One major part of my challenge will be to run the 5k, 10k, Half Marathon and Marathon at the Edinburgh Marathon Festival in May.

To be able to run all that, I need to start now to build up my fitness and get some miles under my belt. I took some time out after Loch Ness in September and this month is time to get back into shape and will mostly be about hill runs and Metafit, which made a huge difference at Loch Ness. It’s not going to be easy but it’s going to be a lot of fun!

 

Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

