2013 – The Year of the Perfect Race

While I sit here writing this, my wife is sitting across from me writing her blog and reviewing her year of running and it has occurred to me that this is something that I’m aware of doing only once before – 2 years ago when I created a year of opportunity in the build up to my 40th birthday. This would suggest that I’ve either not set any specific goals since then or just not written them down in order to be able to review them and check my progress. Given that I spend my life encouraging my Personal Training clients to do just that, I’m clearly not setting a good example so it’s time for me to make amends and set my goals for 2013.

I moved into my own PT studio in October and so I will be looking to grow my business much more in terms of the services I am able to offer, improve the quality of the service I provide and learn from one or two mistakes I made in 2012.

In running terms, 2013 is the year I want to be able to run my perfect race. For the last few years, I’ve been chasing a PB in the marathon but not quite managing it although I’ve run some pretty decent times in the races I have run. My PB is 3hrs 19mins, set in Edinburgh in 1999 and while it’s coming up for 14 years since that great day, I know I can beat that time.

My plan is to run 2 marathons – Lochaber in April and Loch Ness in September, complete the Championship series with Perth Road Runners and do a Triathlon in July in Florida. My aim is to try and run sub 3:15 in Lochaber to claim a good for age place in London in 2014 then try and run even faster at Loch Ness. The Lochaber one will be a challenge to get that kind of time in the space of 4 months but then everything is possible and I’m willing to do what it takes to achieve it.

After all, if we weren’t challenged we would never learn and never change.

Happy New Year to you all and may 2013 bring you positive challenges and become the person you want to be 🙂

Happy Running

Leave a Reply

