A change is as good as a rest

It’s now 4 weeks since London and it is time to start working on my next goal. The danger when setting out to complete a task is that when it is over, the motivation goes, time marches on and you end up risking losing all the good work you have put in. As soon as a goal has been achieved, you need to start thinking about the next one.

I have done just that except that I have created 2 goals. The long term goal is to complete the Championship Races with Perth Road Runners and the short term goal is to train hard over the next 6 weeks to become stronger, leaner and faster. Just in time for my holiday.

Personal Trainers are just like everyone else in wanting to be in our best shape, in some ways it’s more important for us as we are meant to be in peak condition to inspire others to train with us. I’ve spent the year so far working on my aerobic fitness to complete the marathon and now I want to focus on some strength & conditioning to become stronger, drop a few pounds and work on sprints so I can run even faster later in the summer.

I think it’s important to mix up your training throughout the year to challenge the body in different ways, keep it fresh and interesting and prevent boredom. If you are getting bored and find your workouts are becoming monotonous, your body will stop responding to it also, if it hasn’t done so already.

What changes am I planning to make? I no longer require as much carbohydrate such as pasta so there will be lots of fruit, vegetables and lean protein, I’ll work with a number of training tools – TRX, dumbbells, Kettlebells and sprint training to get the best results. I’m looking forward to my new challenge so stay tuned and I will tell you what results I get. If I can do it then you can do it also.

Happy training 🙂

20120520-165404.jpg

Leave a Reply

