Body · Mind · running

The Countdown is on!

I started to write this on Sunday while Allison was running the Lochaber Marathon and I chose to relax rather than go for a short run myself but I thought I’d leave it a few days to capture the build up to the big day.

The tapering period is a valuable part of the marathon training program but mentally it’s rather odd as the miles become less and less and the nerves can kick in to feel like its been so long since the last decent run. I skipped the Sunday run of around 10k in favour of relaxing but decided to go for a 5 mile run on Monday morning instead. The run itself felt good though I could feel my body wanting to push on a little faster as that’s what it’s been used to. I wanted to hold back a bit and keep it as a steady run.

This week has been a bit of a roller coaster of emotions as I’ve skipped through gradually increasing excitement to a nervous wreck on Wednesday to high as a kite on Thursday where I made a few silly errors during the day. Thankfully today has been a lot more relaxed and focussed as the day is drawing closer and I’m currently waiting to board the plane to London. The excitement will kick in big style in the morning when I head to Excel and to the Registration and Expo.

Anyone who has run London before will know what I’m talking about here when I say the excitement levels go through the roof the minute you step off the DLR at Excel. For those who haven’t had this experience, think of being a small child about to enter the biggest toy shop ever and you’ve brought all the pocket money you saved up. First you go through and collect the race number, chip and all the little extras you will need for race day. After you’ve done that, you head into the Expo where you are met by lots of people handing you lots of freebies and all the big brands are there – Adidas, Nike, Asics, Lucozade etc are there to entice you to buy new running kit or take advantage of special deals. It is impossible for the non-runner not to be inspired by everything that’s going on and it’s also impossible NOT to go through the Expo without buying something.

The only thing left to do after that is relax the rest of the day and wait for the alarm clock to go off on Sunday morning and prepare to run. As I wait to fly, I have never felt better and I can’t wait to put into practice everything I’ve worked towards for the last 4-5 months. I may or may not achieve my goal on Sunday but one thing is for sure, I will be giving it everything I’ve got and the last step I am physically capable of taking will be the one I take to cross the finish line.

One thought on “The Countdown is on!

Leave a Reply

