Make a Commitment, not a Resolution

The average length of time it takes for a new year’s resolution to have failed is around 16 days so if you set one and it’s not quite worked out then don’t worry. I’ll show you how to get back on track and get the results you want.

One thing I’ve noticed in my experience as a Personal Trainer is people set big goals such as losing a bit of weight and get fit/tone up without really setting a timescale or actually understanding the true meaning of the goal. Without going into finer detail, how can we know what 2 stone looks like or what being fit or toned looks or feels like? This is not the main problem though, most people don’t realise they have to change themselves in order to achieve their goal. This not only applies to the new gym user but also sports people.

Be the change you want to see in the world – Ghandi

I realised this myself on a recent training run. My main goal this year is to run sub 3:15 in the London Marathon to qualify for a good for age place in the future and avoid having to go through the ballot. My performances from last year coupled with training with the TRX and my general fitness would suggest that my target is achievable and my training runs so far would also indicate that it’s very much possible. The wake-up call came last week when I skipped a couple of training runs due to pressing work commitments. When this happens, there is always the belief that I can make it up but past experience has shown me that this doesn’t usually work.

I have quickly realised that in order to achieve my goal, I need to work around my training not the other way around. From changing my meal times to making sure I am in bed by 10 every night so i can get a good 7-8 hours sleep to even changing some of the foods I eat to blocking time off in my diary to train instead of booking in clients, this is crucial for me if I am going to get the time I want rather than miss out by a few minutes.

The sooner we can commit ourselves to achieving our goal and absorb ourselves in the goal, the quicker we will achieve it and do it easily.

Leave a Reply

