Pizza the action

One of my passions away from work and running is cooking. Perhaps it’s the creative part of me but I love making dishes from scratch and enjoy eating it afterwards, even if it hasn’t quite turned out the way I had imagined.

In the 90’s, I got a job as a waiter in the Italian Corner restaurant in Perth and lasted around 4 weeks before I was moved into the kitchen making mix salads and desserts. That was probably down to the fact that I couldn’t work out how to carry more than two plates at any one time. A few months later, I was promoted to making pizzas and then eventually moved on to working in Marcello’s Pizza takeaway.

I had a brilliant mentor in Davide, who took over the takeaway and for the best part of 9 years, I learned all about people, business and of course, pizzas. Marcello’s wasn’t just a takeaway, it was almost a social place where people came for the banter as well as food whether they were on their way home from work, the pub or young people popping in while hanging out with their friends.

I met so many good people, we got bands coming in when they were playing at the Twa Tams, we delivered pizzas to the crew of the film Rob Roy when it was filmed in Perth and the special effects guys came in fairly regularly. People came in because our food was good. We received a write up in The Sunday Times and also in ‘Scotland the Best’ – an independent tourist guide – for best food places in Perth. I learned how to cook all sorts of dishes, how to present them and more importantly, if I made a mistake I could see what I did wrong and do things better next time to get it right.

Cooking for me is a great release, like running, it gives me a great opportunity to try new things, new flavours and when it’s ready, I enjoy tasting it and decide if I got it right or see what I need to do to make it even better.

Never be afraid to try new things, just do it the way you think would be the best, enjoy the feedback and become even better.

Consider every opportunity as it will benefit you in some way. Marcello’s taught me all about food, people’s behaviour patterns and I firmly believe I wouldn’t be where I am now if I hadn’t stayed there as long as I did.

Thank you Davide!

Leave a Reply

